Will I Lose My License For A Reckless Driving Ticket?

by J.D. Garrett on February 6, 2013

Many people are shocked to discover that a reckless driving charge in Virginia is more than a traffic ticket – it’s a criminal charge! If you are convicted of reckless driving, you will have a permanent criminal record.

The possible penalties for a reckless driving conviction do include a possible loss of license for up to six months. Also you may suffer a fine of up to $2500 and a jail sentence of up to 12 months. A judge may impose any one of these punishments, or a combination of the three. There are additional ramifications that affect most people, with insurance rate increases having the most impact.

When facing a reckless driving charge in Virginia, you should consider hiring a traffic defense attorney who understands what you are facing and how to approach the case. An experienced reckless driving defense attorney will be able to guide you and give you sound advice on what steps to take to put you in the best position possible when it’s time to stand in front of the judge. Competent traffic defense involves knowing the law and knowing what the police officer must do to secure a conviction.

If you or someone in your family has received a reckless driving charge in Virginia Beach, contact Garrett Law Group, PLC for a free consultation. (757) 422-4646. Our traffic attorneys are experts at defending reckless driving tickets and saving clients’ licenses and their freedom.

Previous post:

Next post: