//

Can You Afford Not To Hire An Attorney For A Reckless Driving Ticket In Virginia Beach?

by J.D. Garrett on May 22, 2013

According to studies, the average cost of car insurance in Virginia is just over $1300 per year. A single reckless driving conviction will add six points to your Virginia driving record. Other research indicates that one reckless driving ticket can have a significant affect on car insurance rates, increasing insurance premiums by about 25%. In Virginia, that would increase the average yearly insurance premium by as much as $330 each year.

In addition to the added insurance premiums for a reckless driving ticket in Virginia, the charge itself carries some stiff penalties if you are convicted. The maximum fine for reckless driving is $2500. Of course, that level of fine is generally reserved for extremely aggravated cases, such as individuals with chronic traffic offenses and atrocious driving records, or situations where the reckless driving resulted in serious injury or death. Most people who suffer a conviction for reckless driving in Virginia receive a fine between $250 and $500, in addition to court costs.

Reckless driving charges can also result in up to 12 months in jail. Again, the maximum punishment is usually only applied to the most egregious offenders; but some people who face even first time reckless driving offenses do receive jail time, perhaps only a few days. Even if jail time is suspended in it’s entirety, any moving violation ticket (even a minor traffic infraction) received while on probation may trigger that previous time to be imposed. For those people who receive just a few days of jail, the court may, but is not required to, authorize that time to be served on weekends. This is not a free service. The person must pay the jail for that privilege. There is usually a set up fee as much as $50, and each weekend served requires an additional fee of $15-$20 per weekend. If the time is not allowed to be served on weekends, the loss of time from work can be substantial. Even working a minimum wage job may cost $320 for a five day sentence.

If someone is convicted of reckless driving in Virginia Beach, it is likely they will have their driver’s license suspended. The law allows the judge to suspend a driver’s license for a period of up to six months. While the loss of freedom might not have a dollar cost, the DMV will require a reinstatement fee of $150 before they will reissue your license. They may even require you to attend a traffic school prior to reinstatement for additional costs and fees.

Even for a first time reckless driving conviction, with no jail time and no license suspension, the person is looking at spending as much as $1500 including the increased insurance premium over three years. For those who are sentenced to jail time and license suspension, the cost can be as much as $2000.

How Much Does A Reckless Driving Defense Attorney Cost To Represent Me?

In many reckless driving case, the traffic defense attorneys at Garrett Law Group, PLC can present evidence and argue for reduced charges, eliminating the possibility of jail and license suspension, and reducing any fines significantly. In more complicated matters, we have been able limit or eliminate any jail time, and minimize any license suspension and secure restricted license provisions.

Our traffic defense lawyers are experts in representing individuals charged with serious traffic offenses, such as reckless driving, suspended license charges, hit and run, and driving under the influence. We will investigate your facts and offer advice on how to put you in the best position possible when it’s time to stand before the judge. The cost of hiring an attorney for a reckless driving charge ranges from $750 to $1000, depending on the facts. This is far less than the average cost of receiving a first time reckless driving conviction.

Contact our traffic defense attorneys today for a free consultation. (757) 422-4646. We are available 24/7/365 to answer your questions.

Previous post:

Next post: